Butterfly Sundress

This dress is the second piece of clothing I have sewn. It has been done since the middle of June, I have just been too busy to get pictures of myself in it. Which is weird, because I wear it all the time! It has gone to a high school graduation, on vacation to Mexico, and picking peaches. It’s a well rounded dress.

Image

It was love at first sight with this fabric! I love the mustard yellow color and I have a soft spot for butterflies. Yes, it is quilting cotton, I told you I had a weakness for the stuff! Every time I went to the fabric store I would go over to this bolt and admire it some more. I knew I had to find something to do with it. Then along came a 50% off patterns sale at Joann’s and there she was– Vouge Easy options V8184. I made view A. It seemed like a good option for summer, and my Husband says that a sundress is the cutest thing a girl can wear. Gotta keep the Husband happy!

Image

This pattern has a TON of ease to it. I made a size 8 in a muslin and it wouldn’t even stay on. I cut a 6 (my pattern envelope was size 6-12) and still had to have 2 inch seam allowances. Oh the big 4 pattern companies, how will we ever teach you?!  It fit me pretty well with the huge seam allowances, but then I went on a diet and have lost about 10 pounds in the last 2 months since I made it, so now I can’t wear it without a belt. I am thinking about going back and taking in the seams- I just love the dress so much I want to be excited to wear it instead of dreading pulling it up every 5 seconds, you know? Also, I didn’t finish my seams and since I have washed it a few times, the cotton is beginning to unravel. Whoops! Lesson learned.

Image

Image

I love the way the dress fits, just enough flounce to have some fun in the sun but not too much that everyone sees your panties when the wind blows. I’m not a huge fan of big skirts, so I like that it has a closer fit. I added the lace trim to the bottom just for a little something something and I think it makes a huge difference, dresses it up a little bit and adds some edge.

Image

Image

UGH, I am so in love with this fabric. Also, writing this post has made me want to sew another one of these dresses. I think I will try F next– I see the perfect LBD in my future!

On a more personal note, this weekend the Husband and I celebrated our one year wedding anniversary! Here are a couple of pictures because I know you are as nosey as I am about other people’s personal lives. 

ImageWe hiked to Oneonta Falls in the Columbia River Gorge.

Image

Then we had dinner at Timberline Lodge which is where we got married. After dinner we went outside and stood in the same place we got married in the Ampitheater and watched the sunset. *awwww*

Leave a Reply

